What does Tier 4 mean for basketball in England

What does Tier 4 mean for basketball in England

The Government has added a swathe of areas across country to Tier 4 level to address an increase in Covid-19 infection rates.

The new restrictions take effect at 00:01 on 31 December, while other areas will move from Tier 2 into Tier 3 at the same time.

What basketball activity is allowed in Tier 4 areas:

  • Non-Elite Senior and Junior (U18) indoor activity is not permitted.
  • Elite competition and training can continue – BBL, WBBL, NBL Division One, WNBL Division One, EABL, WEABL (RTP Level 2). Elite level is defined by government and detailed in Appendix 5 of the RTP document here.
  • Educationally based training is permitted for U18 players. For players over 18, Non-elite rules apply. No competitions are permitted.
  • Outdoor basketball is permitted in line with RTP level 4 conditions for seniors.
  • Organised outdoor basketball is permitted for U18s (RTP level 2), however given these activities require a number of adults to run sessions we would strongly recommend that clubs do not stage activities until the New Year when further guidance will be available.

Areas moving to Tier 4 from December 31

  • Leicester City
  • Leicestershire (Oadby and Wigston, Harborough, Hinckley and Bosworth, Blaby, Charnwood, North West Leicestershire, Melton)
  • Lincolnshire (City of Lincoln, Boston, South Kesteven, West Lindsey, North Kesteven, South Holland, East Lindsey)
  • Northamptonshire (Corby, Daventry, East Northamptonshire, Kettering, Northampton, South Northamptonshire, Wellingborough)
  • Derby and Derbyshire (Derby, Amber Valley, South Derbyshire, Bolsover, North East Derbyshire, ChesterfieldErewash, Derbyshire Dales, High Peak)
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire (Gedling, Ashfield, Mansfield, Rushcliffe, Bassetlaw, Newark and Sherwood, Nottinghamshire, Broxtowe)
  • Birmingham and Black Country (Dudley, Birmingham, Sandwell, Walsall, Wolverhampton)
  • Coventry
  • Solihull
  • Warwickshire (Rugby, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Warwick, North Warwickshire, Stratford-upon-Avon)
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent (East Staffordshire, Stafford, South Staffordshire, Cannock Chase, Lichfield, Staffordshire Moorlands, Newcastle under Lyme, Tamworth, Stoke-on-Trent)
  • Lancashire (Burnley, Pendle, Blackburn with Darwen, Ribble Valley, Blackpool, Preston, Hyndburn, Chorley, Fylde, Lancaster, Rossendale, South Ribble, West Lancashire, Wyre)
  • Cheshire and Warrington (Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Warrington)
  • Cumbria (Eden, Carlisle, South Lakeland, Barrow-in-Furness, Copeland, Allerdale)
  • Greater Manchester (Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan)
  • Tees Valley (Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees)
  • North East (County Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside, Sunderland)
  • Gloucestershire (Gloucester, Forest of Dean, Cotswolds, Tewkesbury, Stroud, Cheltenham)
  • Somerset Council (Mendip, Sedgemoor, Somerset West and Taunton, South Somerset)
  • Swindon
  • Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole
  • Isle of Wight
  • New Forest
basketball england
Basketball England

Areas who’s already moved to Tier 4 areas since 20 December

  • London (All 32 London boroughs plus City of London)
  • Bedford
  • Central Bedfordshire
  • Luton
  • Milton Keynes
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Essex
  • Southend-on-Sea
  • Thurrock
  • Hertfordshire
  • Norfolk
  • Peterborough
  • Suffolk

Sources Basketball England.